Calendar » Night & Day

Sympathy for the Devil

by

comment

Conor McPherson's Seafarer — a dark comedy involving family dysfunction, copious amounts of alcohol, a high-stakes poker game and a sinister stranger (and set on Christmas Eve) — is très Irish: black, mythic, mordant. The tortured young McPherson has been lauded as "quite possibly the finest playwright of his generation" by Ben Brantley of The New York Times, and critics have said Seafarer is his funniest and most powerful work yet (it received Olivier and Tony award nominations). Don't miss this coproduction of the Unicorn Theatre and Kansas City Actors Theatre, directed by Mark Robbins on Unicorn Theatre's Jerome Stage (3828 Main, 816-531-7529). The run lasts through November 7. Tickets cost $27.50-$37.50. — Grace Suh


Wed., Oct. 20, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 21, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 22, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 23, 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 24, 3 p.m.; Tue., Oct. 26, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., Oct. 27, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Oct. 28, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Oct. 29, 8 p.m.; Sat., Oct. 30, 8 p.m.; Sun., Oct. 31, 3 p.m.; Tue., Nov. 2, 7:30 p.m.; Wed., Nov. 3, 7:30 p.m.; Thu., Nov. 4, 7:30 p.m.; Fri., Nov. 5, 8 p.m.; Sat., Nov. 6, 8 p.m.; Sun., Nov. 7, 3 & 7:30 p.m., 2010

Add a comment