Calendar » Night & Day

Still Cutting

by

comment
For Craig Aikman, a talented actor and director with Minds Eye Theatre, a return to the Age of Aquarius isn't necessarily all about the astrology. "Even though we are 40 years from the love-in era, we are still fighting many of the same social and political wars," Aikman says. "In many ways, 2009 feels like 1969." Onstage it should, too. Aikman, the director of the Hair revival at Just Off Broadway Theatre (3051 Central), is proudly sticking to the original's once-controversial nudity. For Minds Eye — the same merry reprobates who tweaked Kansas City with Caligula and Women Behind Bars — the point isn't the shock. It's the changing times. Aikman says, "When we picked this show, we felt it would speak to this new generation as well as remind the older generations that if we don't learn from our past, we are destined to repeat it. We are standing on the edge of a new type of revolution ... one that my parents must have looked at 40 years ago." Curtain is at 8 p.m. For tickets, see mindseyetheatrekc.com.
Fri., April 24, 8 p.m.; Sat., April 25, 8 p.m.; Wed., April 29, 8 p.m.; Thu., April 30, 8 p.m.; Fri., May 1, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 2, 8 p.m.; Wed., May 6, 8 p.m.; Thu., May 7, 8 p.m.; Fri., May 8, 8 p.m.; Sat., May 9, 8 p.m., 2009

Add a comment