Happy Hour returns to Kansas on July 1

After 27 years, happy hour returns to Kansas on July 1.



Raise your glass, Kansas.
  • Le Club Avenue
  • Raise your glass, Kansas.
A generation of Kansas drinkers has never known happy hour, but after 27 years, hourly drink specials are returning to the state.

A series of new liquor laws signed by Gov. Sam Brownback go into effect July 1, among them a new happy-hour provision that allows for drink specials that don't have to be offered for an entire day (as the current law reads).

In addition to the happy-hour specials, microdistilleries will be allowed to sample and sell their products on-site. Liquor stores can sample beer, wine and liquor, as well. Dinner railway cars are also now able to apply for a liquor license.

One of the new liquor laws, which allows for wineries to sell bottles at tasting events, went into effect on May 31. So festivalgoers can buy bottles of wine if a winery chooses to offer them for sale at a tasting. The Kansas Legislature failed to pass a provision this year, which has been introduced in previous sessions, to let grocery and convenience stores sell full-strength beer and spirits.
Follow us on Twitter and like us on Facebook.

Comments (3)

Showing 1-3 of 3

Add a comment

Add a comment